Author Topic: Importing a 110V lathe from US  (Read 2583 times)

Offline natti

• iron
Importing a 110V lathe from US
« on: May 22, 2018, 08:56:06 AM »
Hello woodturners,
I'm new to this hobby and looking to buy my first lathe.
I have an opportunity now to buy and bring a lathe from the US - the prices there are amazing, and transporting it will be free.
The model i'm interested in is the Delta 46-460, it's a strong (1HP) Midi lathe with generous swing over the bed (12.5"), costs $650.

The problem is of course - the Current, the lath is originally wired for the US electricity network - 11V/60Hz

Does anyone know if there's a way to operate such a device with European 220V/50HZ?
I know that a step-down converter is needed, but what a about the current frequency?

thanks!

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
Re: Importing a 110V lathe from US
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2018, 09:15:53 AM »
Frequency change from 60Hz to 50Hz primarily means that it will run approx. 20% slower, that's all. And you lose some horsepower.
Now, out of plain curiosity: how have you managed to arrange transport for free? And have though about import duties and the likes?

Offline APH

• bronze
    • My Instagram turning feed
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2018, 10:44:51 AM »
Does anyone know if there's a way to operate such a device with European 220V/50HZ?
I know that a step-down converter is needed, but what a about the current frequency?
You'll need to know a little more about how the variable speed circuitry works. You could try emailing Delta direct to find out. Different supply frequencies might play well with the electronics.

Whilst you say you could get the lathe shipped free, what happens if you have a problem with it ? warranty might be void if used on the wrong electricity supply, plus a look through the reviews on Amazon suggests QA might not be great. Shipping back and forth just once would probably wipe any saving out.