Author Topic: Advice For Buying a Lathe  (Read 5263 times)

muhmazabd

Advice For Buying a Lathe
« on: July 21, 2016, 12:33:17 PM »
Hello every body,
This is my first post, I really appreciate your help.
Few thinks to tell you before my question, I am doing the wood working as a hobby my workshop based in Bahrain, I am staying in Manchester for the coming three weeks, I want to buy a MIDI lathe, a good quality one because i will ship it over seas as i couldn't find any suitable option back in my home country.
This is my first time in wood turning and i am really confused, I found the following options i will put the link and best price i was able to get for each one

http://www.toolgurus.co.uk/sip-01936-variable-speed-midi-wood-lathe/
SIP 01936 -> 330 GBP (3/4 HP)

http://www.jettools.com/us/en/new-products-and-offers/new-products/1221vs-lathe/
JET 1221VS -> 630 GBP (1 HP)

Axminster Hobby Series AH-1218 Woodturning Lathe
Axminster AH-1218 -> 229 GBP (3/4 HP)

http://www.machinery4wood.co.uk/product.php/section//sn/BRI%2F717854-PK
Nova Comet II VS Midi Lathe -> 530 GBP (3/4 HP)

http://www.recordpower.co.uk/product/cast-iron-electronic-variable-speed-lathe#.V5Ccw_krLIV
DLM 320 -> 500 GBP (1 HP)

the best one  think is the jet 1221 1HP, but as i found that it is manufactured in china so will it have a big difference than the SIP 01936 3/4HP the SIP look as good option for the price and features but will the 1/4hp make a difference,
I am really confused about these options, can you please advice me what to choose, or tell me how do you find them if you own one of them, is any other good options that i missed.

Thanks a lot for your time,

Muhammad

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: Advice For Buying a Lathe
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 12:45:07 PM »
I would go for the Axminster hobby Lathe they are a super lathe AH 1218.
Don't forget a chuck
Give Axminster a ring I expect they will do a deal on a lathe chuck and jaws

Regards George