Author Topic: Sealing a large beech log for a drum + dealing with mould  (Read 3605 times)

Offline howlingbaboon

• bronze
Sealing a large beech log for a drum + dealing with mould
« on: April 08, 2016, 10:33:40 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm new to woodwork and the site. Although my question is not really wood turning (although I'm interested in getting into that too), I figured that you would be the people to know. I have fairy large, a recently cut beech log (maybe 13" diameter) which I'd one day like to carve a drum out of (like an African djembe hand drum).  It's been stored in a well ventilated outhouse since the tree was felled a few weeks back. I'm not even really sure if beech is suitable but I'm a drummer and quite sentimental about that tree so would love to make something special from it. I've got 3 questions really:

1. I've heard that the ends should be sealed to avoid cracking. What should I use to do that?
2 . I looked at it today and it had a little white mould growing from the top end. Is that going to be a problem? What would you suggest?
3. How long do you think it will need to season?

Any advice you can give will be most appreciated, cheers!

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
Re: Sealing a large beech log for a drum + dealing with mould
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2016, 03:07:59 AM »
it will need to be hollowed out immediately to let it dry without cracking.

i seal my timber with pva.

you won't dry a bit of wood like that in one piece anyway. i think you would need to leave it for about 200 years to get it dry enough at 13" wide.

to prevent mould it needs to be kept inside in the dry. you could try spraying it with dettol.

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2016, 06:30:46 AM »