Author Topic: No such thing as a left handed turner  (Read 10928 times)

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: No such thing as a left handed turner
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2016, 09:25:56 AM »
Well done George, another glowing testimonial to your ability to teach and help improve peoples turning skills.

It also reinforces what we all know, you need guidance to learn to turn properly, it is not a skill that can be self taught.
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline ChrisF

• gold
« Reply #31 on: January 23, 2016, 09:59:21 AM »
Another issue at play here is of course the very real issue of George's legal responsibility to his student.  If he allowed them to turn in a potentially dangerous manner and an accident occurred he could very easily be found liable.  As such he must ensure that safe practice is followed in his workshop, and in this context George's judgement at the time is the only one that matters.

Offline Mark Sanger

• platinum
    • Mark Sanger Web Site
« Reply #32 on: January 23, 2016, 02:54:49 PM »
Well done George, it is difficult for any of us to change from the way we have been doing a particular task for some time especially if we get reasonable results from it, often it is very challenging to be told what we are doing is wrong and to try another path. Keeping an open mind and willingness to change can help us all.

Offline ALAN THOMAS RPT

• copper
    • atwoodturning.com
« Reply #33 on: January 25, 2016, 02:24:49 PM »
Hi George