Author Topic: Rules for a beautiful vase  (Read 9167 times)

Offline Mark Sanger

• platinum
    • Mark Sanger Web Site
Re: Rules for a beautiful vase
« Reply #30 on: March 31, 2015, 08:21:44 AM »
Not being naturally artistic, and have spent many years as a mechanical engineer I have always been fascinated by the mathematical rules in nature and recently found a book called 'Why do Buses Come in Threes'. Its a very thought provoking book and causes you to look in detail at things generally taken for granted.

Dave

Thanks for your comments Dave, I will invest in that book.

Offline Mark Sanger

• platinum
    • Mark Sanger Web Site
Re: indeed in Modigliani's painting there is phi and fibonacci
« Reply #31 on: March 31, 2015, 08:23:33 AM »
Indeed at least in some paintings of Modi' it is possible to fing both the Fibonacci series and the golden Ratio. As known the Fibonacci series tend to reach the golden ratio which is an infinite number like the fibonacci series.
Of course we do not know if that was intentional. I suspect it was not and the phi was found because the painting proportions are so beautiful that "must" fit the Phi.
http://www.secretmodigliani.com/how.html

Thanks Sevilla I have printed this off and will read it and add it to my files for the future.

Offline Mark Sanger

• platinum
    • Mark Sanger Web Site
« Reply #32 on: March 31, 2015, 08:31:36 AM »
The rule of thumb guides I use when designing my work seem to work for me be it thirds or 60/40 split

Mark thank you for the links I'll be doing some reading to get a better understanding.

I think that I also run some test piece's to see the feedback over the coming months.

Rock and Roll will never die in my work shop  :) Long Live Rock

Ed