Author Topic: Lathe accident  (Read 5741 times)

Offline john taylor

• bronze
    • John Taylor Woodturner
Lathe accident
« on: November 18, 2013, 12:14:33 PM »
This is an industrial metal lathe but the same applies to woodturning, never wear loose clothing.

Not gruesome. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N9grSq-TWMQ

john

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
Re: Lathe accident
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 01:29:46 PM »

A camera on the job ... That happened in 2 seconds and the material was about an 1" - 24.5 mm ... had it been larger ..  :o ..  As it pulled the clothes off him, was there being loose beneficial, albeit he was still dragged in to the work/lathe.

What was the outcome of any injuries.

David
"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,"  By Dickens ''''

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 03:46:46 PM »
As an apprentice I remember being taught to remove rings and watches and roll your sleeves up before using a machine, we also had to remove our ties but I guess that is not so relevant today.Funnily enough though no mention was made of wearing steel toe cap boots.
Regards
John BHT

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2013, 04:48:36 PM »
As if to emphasize just how much people panic in such situations, did you notice that it took the first two people on the scene 15 seconds to even think of switching off?
Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2013, 09:40:21 PM »
As if to emphasize just how much people panic in such situations, did you notice that it took the first two people on the scene 15 seconds to even think of switching off?
Les