Author Topic: Finished Olive Wood Bowl...  (Read 4214 times)

arcos

Finished Olive Wood Bowl...
« on: January 09, 2013, 07:13:20 PM »
So, here is my finished bowl with crack 'repaired'.

I have given it one coat of olive oil about 15 minutes ago and I think its going to need another coat or two at least to give it a nice natural sheen.

As I am pretty new to this I wonder if you can give me some tips on actually photographing pieces?

Looking at the images there appear to be a few gouge marks... They aren't gouge marks they are where the wood is 'disappearing'!

So please, come on you guys, give me some constructive critisism, what I should have done differently, how I could have improved on this piece etc etc.

In my 'defence' I would normally turn MUCh 'lighter' but I think that the piece would have just broken up!

Thanks for looking!

Offline Terry Miller

• bronze
Re: Finished Olive Wood Bowl...
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 07:22:09 PM »
Just been reading your post on the making of this bowl and I think you have done very well. Keep up the good work.

Regards

Terry
Regards

Terry

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2013, 07:35:11 PM »
I can see why you wanted to save it, gorgeous wood. When I have had to 'save' something like this I use a mixture of epoxy and brass powder to fix the split. Leave it for a couple of days to ensure that it is fully set and start turning slowly. If the crack hasn't sealed properly you can tell from the sound. It has to be something worth the risk though or I am like George and Andy and add to my firewood stash. This would have tempted me I think. Beautiful wood.

Pete
Turners don't make mistakes, they have design opportunities

arcos

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2013, 07:42:54 PM »
Thank you Terry!

It has been an 'interesting' project and a STEEP learning curve...