Author Topic: Resin for cracks  (Read 2738 times)

Offline Maca

• iron
Resin for cracks
« on: December 03, 2019, 10:55:40 AM »
I've made a couple of small bowls from some cherry which was cut in the spring of this year.  Even though there were no cracks in the blank, when I started turning the outside I could see cracks but decided to continue to finish them.  I left the walls a bit thicker than initially planned just because I was worried they would come apart on the lathe.

Anyway, as the wood was only partially dry the cracks have opened up a bit more, they are about 1-2mm at worst.  They haven't lengthened though so the photo attached shows the length but they are a bit wider than they look here. 

I don't mind the cracks but these are being given to a relative who asked if they could be filled so because I've never used resin before I want to ask the group for advice on good brands of resin and best way to apply it.  I don't have a pressure pot which I've seen a lot of people use and don't intend getting one.

Thanks in advance.

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
Re: Resin for cracks
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2019, 11:05:10 AM »
I never use resin, I use various metal and glass powders and very thin industrial super glue. Fill the crack with the powder, in layers, each time dropping some of the glue in. Build up until slightly proud and you have what looks like a pure metal or glass strip in the split. Make sure that you seal the wood round with sealer of something fist as the glue can stain the wood.
Not the beast image but this is an example with brass

Pete
Turners don't make mistakes, they have design opportunities

Offline Maca

• iron
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2019, 11:47:16 AM »
That looks good.  Do you have vendor info for the materials you use?

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2019, 11:57:47 AM »