Author Topic: Beginner woodturner - a birch bowl  (Read 2202 times)

Offline Tero Uotila

• iron
Beginner woodturner - a birch bowl
« on: August 15, 2019, 01:28:02 PM »
Hello everyone!

I'm a beginner turner from Finland and am interested of learning more about turning.
  I have a crappy very old small lathe, no chuck and a joke of a set of chisels, I don’t even own a bowl gauge. I’m making the best I can with my equipment, can’t afford to buy new ones at the moment, maybe one day then.
I have been turning for a few months now, so I’m as green as they come. Have had now schooling for turning except Nick Zammetti's and R Humphrey's channels on you tube, maybe couple of others as well.

All feedback is appreciated.

This is my latest project, little different from what I've seen anyone make.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bskK7wYwYyI&t=56s

« Last Edit: August 15, 2019, 01:29:41 PM by Tero Uotila »

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Re: Beginner woodturner - a birch bowl
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2019, 02:28:17 PM »
Welcome to the forum and well done for showing your early work. The finish on the oak/birch in the first picture is excellent, more-so because you're such a beginner. There are tool marks on the second piece, but I suspect that as your experience grows and as you learn tool techniques, this issue is going to diminish greatly.
Well done....Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline Tero Uotila

• iron
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2019, 07:58:03 AM »
Thank you Les  :)

I'm learning all the time, every piece I turn I learn something new and I do believe I have a lot to learn.
I basically started from nothing, having never even seen someone turn, other than on youtube.
Now that I started, I'm hooked  ;D

Offline John Plater

• gold
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2019, 11:56:48 AM »