Author Topic: Axi Powered Respirator vs Trend Air Shield  (Read 6745 times)

Offline Haggy

• bronze
  • "You can keep your ashes in that " Wife
Axi Powered Respirator vs Trend Air Shield
« on: November 14, 2018, 07:21:50 PM »
I have owned the Trend Air Shield Pro for some years and am very pleased with it.  On the downside the helmet weighs in at just under 1Kg and I find it becomes uncomfortable to wear after an hour or so.  The Axi powered respirator is  two thirds the weight (680g) and appears a lot more comfortable to wear over a period of time.  Do any Woodturners have any advice on which respirator is best suited to our hobby?  I either need to purchase a new battery/ charger for the Trend Air Shield or consider changing it for the Axi .
      Any thoughts would be gratefully received.

Offline Mike313

• gold
  • Ancora Imparo
Re: Axi Powered Respirator vs Trend Air Shield
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2018, 09:49:48 PM »
Total beginner here but I have put the Trend Air Shield on my Wish List as it has an Assigned Protection Factor of 20, and so is a better filter than the Axminster model which has an Assigned Protection Factor of 10. You can google the APF ratings to understand what they mean . . . . . .
« Last Edit: November 14, 2018, 10:14:41 PM by Mike313 »

Offline Redtails4

• copper
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2018, 09:54:51 PM »
Hi
I have trend airshield and after i had it about six months it started or appeared to get uncomfortable it was moving about on my head more so if i had been a little careless with adusting screw. in a period of quite contemplation i had the answer a thin wooly skull cap
The wooly hats without a turn up problem solved.

Offline Derwent Woodturning club

• bronze
    • Derwent Woodturning Club
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2018, 10:10:26 PM »