Author Topic: Collet  (Read 6864 times)

Offline JollyJim

• bronze
Collet
« on: October 04, 2018, 03:26:59 PM »
Hi y'all,

I've been enjoying this site for a long time, but only just joined as I am hoping
someone can enlighten me on the subject of collets.

Basically, I want the ability to hold wooden dowels from, let's say 6mm up to about 17mm,
rather than using my four jaw chuck. I want the holder to run in my morse taper1 fixing and
I've read so much, that I'm totally confused with ER numbers, straight, tapered,  thread
sizes, nut sizes  etc etc. I presume that collets are much more common within the metal working area, and this
is a subject  I have no knowledge of whatsoever.

If any kind member can spend a bit of time letting me know exactly what I would need
to buy, I'll be kind to my wife for the evening !!!!!

Thanks in advance, also, thanks for all the previous pleasure and knowledge
I have got from this site....

best wishes - Jim

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: Collet
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2018, 03:54:24 PM »
I cannot tell you what the difference between the ER numbers mean (ER 25, ER32 etc). But if you look at the Axminster catalogue here (https://www.axminster.co.uk/accessories/machinery-accessories/drilling-milling/milling-accessories/collets-collet-holders), it is basically a 2MT stub that is put in the headstock and you can fit different collets depending upon what size stock you need to hold.

Axminster also do a Mini Chuck that screws directly onto the common rance of headstock threads and takes ER20 collets, (https://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-junior-chuck-ax22446).
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline JollyJim

• bronze
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2018, 04:03:37 PM »
Thanks dr4g0nfly for the reply. The Junior Chuck looks quite interesting and they do