Author Topic: Food Safe Oil  (Read 4629 times)

Offline Alan Fordham

• iron
Food Safe Oil
« on: January 20, 2012, 08:51:43 PM »
I am a novice at wood turning so would appreciate some advcie. I have just turned some egg cups and purcahsed some food Mylands Food Safe Oli to treat them. The tin comes with out ant instructions, I cannot find any reference to food safe oil on Mylands web site, and they have not responded to my e-mail for advice. Please help, how do I apply the oil how much etc, etc.
Thanks in anticipation.

Offline Dave Atkinson

• Global Moderator
  • gold
  • Macclesfield
Re: Food Safe Oil
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 01:59:31 AM »
Hello Alan

Welcome to the forum.  I would wipe it one and leave it for about 10 minutes then wipe off any excess.  Leave it to dry - probably a few hours or overnight and then repeat the process. I would have thought that 2 or 3 coats would be sufficient, depending on how much sheen you require.  Cut it back between coats with 0000 wire wool or nyweb/webrax ( a nylon abrasive pad similar to a pan scrub)

Hope this helps

Cheers Dave

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2012, 08:18:42 AM »
Although this goes without saying - I will repeat it here.

It's not food safe until it's completely cured/dry.
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Andy Coates

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2012, 12:19:54 PM »
If you want a food safe wax you could try beeplenish, a new product to the UK. There's a review on my blog at:

www.woodturningblog.wordpress.com

Offline BrianH

• gold
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2012, 03:04:08 PM »
Something we often overlook when discussing food-safe finishes is that most finishes are, in fact, food safe....they are just not CERTIFIED as such simply because of the cost of such certification.