Author Topic: End grain sealers/green wood treating  (Read 5406 times)

Offline adamstew

• iron
End grain sealers/green wood treating
« on: October 12, 2016, 10:07:47 PM »
Hi folks

Looking for some advice on sealing end grain on partially seasoned and/or freshly cut timber. Ive got some laburnum which I know is prone to checking (felled a few months ago), and I want to try and minimise loss as best I can.

In the past I've used PVA, but I'm not experienced enough to know if it really is actually effective.

What do you all use on green timber?

Cheers

Adam

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Re: End grain sealers/green wood treating
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 10:46:11 PM »
Anything that slows down end-grain evaporation is effective....thin coatings might need 2 coats to be more effective, so with PVA, much depends on the initial product. There are PVA sealers that have a very low viscosity and consequently are not wonderful at sealing end grain, so a few coats might be needed, but there are also PVA adhesives that have a much higher viscosity and they can do a good job of sealing
Les.
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2016, 12:12:44 AM »
i only use PVA and if what i get in the post is thin stuff (i buy any cheap 5l bottles on ebay) then i just leave the lid off and it gets thicker as the weeks go by.

PVA is fine to use.

if the laburnum is already months old then i would not bother putting pva on the ends as cracking will have already occurred. however if you are cutting fresh blanks out of what was felled then seal all endgrain as soon as the blank is cut.

Offline Wood spinner

• platinum
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2016, 03:46:00 PM »
How big are the pieces ?