Author Topic: An annoying lathe squeak  (Read 6859 times)

Offline Dancie

• bronze
An annoying lathe squeak
« on: July 08, 2015, 07:54:42 AM »
Hello all, before you read this please remember that theres no such thing as a stupid question, just someone who doesn't know the answer and that I'm new to all this. I have a new Jet lathe, one of the medium size ones, I turned it on for the first time in May of this year so it hasn't had loads of wear. It’s developed a rather annoying squeak, its ok up to 600 but anything above that it becomes more than annoying. The noise is coming from the belt housing and no it’s not a mouse. I've looked through the manual and theres nothing about oiling or what to do with general maintenance, all it makes reference to is to keep it clean !!!  I'm not sure if that means my language. So before I phone Axminster and ask them I wondered if any of you have any suggestions of what to do.  :'(
Mistakes are proof that at least you're trying

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: An annoying lathe squeak
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2015, 08:00:31 AM »
Possibly belt tension or a dry bearing.
Try slackening the belt right off and run the motor up at least that will eliminate the motor.

Regards George
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2015, 08:53:19 AM »
I know this sounds obvious but just make sure your drive belt is on corresponding pulleys. Also, if you have used an aerosol spray of some sort on a piece mounted on the lathe it can get into the bearings just a thought.

Offline Dancie

• bronze
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2015, 09:42:55 AM »
Many thanks to the both of you - John, nothing is obvious to me about such things. George, If it is a dry bearing does that mean it has to be returned? I wont be able to look at it until tomorrow.

Offline Mark Hancock

• bronze
    • Mark Hancock
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2015, 09:50:39 AM »