Author Topic: Wood Tap  (Read 5113 times)

Offline z3ddie

• copper
  • It wasn't a catch it was a redesign
Wood Tap
« on: May 18, 2015, 09:25:53 AM »
Hi all, as some will know I am new to turning but have collected some nice tools along the way - Looking at Youtube, especially the American ones, a lot of them make their own wood threaded disposable chucks.  I have been all over this forum looking for which one to get, I have a Record Power DML305 with a 3/4inch headstock.  I have tried Record and Axminster websites to try and find one but can't seem to locate one, so does anyone know where I can get one and how much?  The ability to make my own one use chucks would be useful as I like to make lamps and have a lot of 'work in progress' and remounting them is a bit of pain.  Thanks in advance.

Offline Richard Findley

• bronze
    • The Turner's Workshop
Re: Wood Tap
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2015, 12:22:34 PM »
Hi

A tap is a tap, whether for wood or metal, so as long as you can find one for your headstock, ie 3/4x 16tpi, then thats all you need. A good source for this type of thing is Tracey tools http://www.tracytools.com/taps-and-dies What I don't know is whether the thread is unc or Whitworth, although as it is based on a very old English lathe it may be Whitworth...?? But i'm sure someone with some engineering knowledge will be along shortly.

HTH

Richard
See more of my work at www.turnersworkshop.co.uk
Follow on Instagram: https://instagram.com/richard_findley

Offline john taylor

• bronze
    • John Taylor Woodturner
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2015, 12:38:28 PM »
Toolpost do the Beal spindle taps http://www.toolpost.co.uk/pages/Chucks___Accessories/Turning_Accessories/turning_accessories.html#SpindleTap

I have one for my lathe and it one of the best and most useful accessories I have brought.

john

Offline z3ddie

• copper
  • It wasn't a catch it was a redesign
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2015, 01:33:08 PM »